Nick Planas

Composer and musician

Home All completed works Solo Advanced To My Father (Basset-clarinet / Clarinet & Piano 2014)

To My Father (Basset-clarinet / Clarinet & Piano 2014)

For some years I had been toying with the idea of writing a piece in memory of my late father, the clarinettist Edward “Ted” Planas. In April 1969 Alan Hacker had performed Mozart’s “restored” Clarinet Concerto K.622 on the first modern basset-clarinet which he had commissioned from Ted, who was well known for his craftsmanship in designing, restoring and repairing woodwind instruments for his fellow players. The basset-clarinet is an extension of the ordinary clarinet by four additional semitones, in such as way as to be playable chromatically.

My intention was to compose a work for the basset-clarinet that Ted would have enjoyed both hearing and playing, in styles which he would have been familiar with, and for an instrument which he helped to pioneer in the modern era.

The work has five movements - the clips of the first three movements are performed by Margaret Archibald (basset-clarinet) and John Flinders (piano), and the final two movements by Lucy Downer (basset-clarinet) and Cliodna Shanahan (piano).

I - Pastorale Part of the middle section of the Pastorale
II - Romance The opening of the Romance
III - Czardas The end of the opening cadenza, into the Czardas
IV - Clouds One of the microtonal sections from Clouds
V - Calypso Finale The last minute and a half of the catchy Calypso

The first three movements were first performed on 3rd February 2014 at St.Sepulchre without Newgate (The Musician's Church), Holborn, London, by Margaret Archibald (Basset-clarinet) and John Flinders (Piano). Margaret played on the prototype "Selmer of Paris" basset-clarinet which had been gifted by them to Ted Planas in the early 1970s. A short clip of this performance will appear here soon.

The complete Suite wase premiered on March 8th 2014 at St.John the Baptist Church, Chipping Barnet, Hertfordshire, by Lucy Downer (Basset-clarinet) and Cliodna Shanahan (Piano)


Whether played on a clarinet in A or Bb, the clarinet notes remain the same, however different piano parts are supplied depending on the pitch of the clarinet.

Please select the version you require below:

Front cover of To My Father by Nick Planas Clarinet in Bb version (ISMN 979-0-9002323-0-4) £15.95
Clarinet in A version (ISMN 979-0-9002323-1-1) £15.95
Combined A & Bb version (ISMN 979-0-9002323-0-4+) £20.95
UK Postage & Packing £2.25   **FREE UNTIL END OF APRIL 2014**