Nick Planas

Composer and musician

Home All completed works Small ensemble Advanced Sonata for Euphonium and Strings (2002)

Sonata for Euphonium and Strings (2002)

This work was composed for the Euphonium virtuoso Michael Howard, and premiered in November 2002 in the Chapel at Magdalen College School, Brackley, under the baton of Stephen Ellery. The original scoring is for Euphonium (Bb Tenor Tuba) with Strings (without Double Bass) and Glockenspiel, however the inclusion of Double Bass is preferable.

I - Allegro

II - Adagio

III - Presto

These clips were created using a Roland SC88 sound module, via Sibelius 2.1

Instrumentation: Euphonium (Bb Tenor Tuba), Glockenspiel, Violins 1 & 2, Violas, Cellos, Double Bass (ad lib.)

Score & Parts (including free P&P in UK): £60.00
A4 Study Score: £20.00