Nick Planas

Composer and musician

Home All completed works Small ensemble Advanced A Summer’s Eve near an English Village - Op.31 (Cor Anglais quartet – 2002)

A Summer’s Eve near an English Village - Op.31 (Cor Anglais quartet – 2002)

This 4 movement work was composed for Kim Keeble, who premiered the work at Sulgrave Manor, Northamptonshire, accompanied by the Priory Trio, on February 1st 2003. The first two verses of Thomas Gray’s “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard” helped to shape the musical themes. These lines could have been written from any point in or around a village. I was keen to allude to the words of Gray’s poem, although with some licence. In this music the cor anglais is treated as the principal instrument for some, but not all, of the time. Writing for a small ensemble such as this had some challenges - the first being to allude to the tolling bell in the opening bars of the piece.

I – The curfew (2m20s)

The Curfew tolls the knell of parting day,
The lowing herd wind slowly o’er the lea,

II – The ploughman homeward plods (2m15s)

The ploughman homeward plods his weary way,
And leaves the world to darkness and to me.

III - Now fades the glimmering landscape (1m35s)

 Now fades the glimmering landscape on the sight,
And all the air a solemn stillness holds,

IV - Save where the beetle wheels (1m55s)

Save where the beetle wheels his droning flight,
And drowsy tinklings lull the distant folds;

Score & Parts (including free P&P in UK): £19.50