Nick Planas

Composer and musician

Banbury 400 (Orchestral – 2008)

This 14 minute orchestral work was commissioned by Town Mayor of Banbury, Cllr. Ann Bonner, as part of the Banbury 400 celebrations. The music was intended as a celebration of the signing of the Charter, but also a reflection of how Banbury has changed over the years, using the different musical styles that have evolved since 1608. The work was premiered as part of the Banbury 400 celebrations in July 2008 in a packed St.Mary's Church, Banbury, and again at Christmas 2008. Since then I have conducted it as part of my 50th Birthday Concert in Brackley, May 2010.

The clip below is of the 4th section Reflections

Orchestration: W/WIND. 3Fl(1Picc), 2Ob, CA, 2Cl, BCl doubling Sop Sax, 2Bsn, CBsn. BRASS: 4Hn, 3Tpt, 3Trb, Tuba PERCUSSION: 3/4players. Harp STRINGS

Score & Parts available for hire for up to 12 weeks, for £120 plus P&P

Signed Presentation Score: £20.00 including P&P (UK only)